Tory Gay Group ‘delighted’ with number of new gay Tory MPs

LGBTory, the Conservative LGBT Group, today expressed pleasure at the number of openly-gay Conservative MPs in the new House of Commons following last week’s General Election.

The Conservatives now have the largest number of openly-gay MPs of any Party represented in Parliament, with at least ten gay MPs sitting on the Tory benches following last week’s General Election – compared to Labour with 8 newly-elected gay MPs.  LGBTory has profiled these successes on its website, including Parliament’s second lesbian MP, Margot James, who was elected as Conservative MP for Stourbridge.  Ms James has been the Vice Chair of the Conservatives for some time but now takes her place in the new House of Commons together with Iain Stewart, elected in Milton Keynes South; Nick Boles in Grantham and Stamford and Stuart Andrew in Pudsey, Yorkshire.